Skip to main content

Database Guide: Gale Virtual Reference Library : About

Search the Database

x

GVRL Database Description

Gale Virtual Reference Library is an electronic reference book collection at HC which contains 241 titles. Titles and series included in this collection are listed below and organized by subjects:

English
Drama for Students, Vol. 1 - 30
Literature and Its Times
Literature and Its Times, Supplement 1
Literature of War
Novels for Students, Vols. 1 - 43
Poetry for Students, Vols. 1 - 44
Short Stories for Students, Vols. 1 - 37
Twenty-First Century Drama: The First Decade
Twenty-First Century Novels: The First Decade
World Literature and Its Times, Vol. 1: Latin American Literature and Its Times
World Literature and Its Times, Vol. 2: African Literature and Its Times
World Literature and Its Times, Vol. 3: British and Irish Literature and Its Times: Celtic Migration to the Refrom Bill (Beginnings - 1830s)
World Literature and Its Times, Vol. 4: British and Irish Literature and Its Times: The Victorian Era to the Present (1837 - )
World Literature and Its Times, Vol. 5: Spanish and Portuguese Literatures and Their Times (The Iberian Peninsula)
World Literature and Its Times, Vol. 6: Middle Eastern Literatures and Their Times
World Literature and Its Times, Vol. 7: Italian Literature and Its Times
World Literature and Its Times, Vol. 8: Classical Literature and Its Times 
 

History and Social Sciences
Africa and the Americas: Culture, Politics and History
American Decades 2000 - 2009 
American Eras
Ancient Civilizations Reference Library
Bowling, Beatniks and Bell-Bottoms: Pop Culture of 20th and 21st Century America, 2nd ed. 
Encyclopedia of Geography
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
Encylopedia of Sociology 
Encylopedia of U.S. Political History: Volume 1: Colonial Beginnings Through Revolution, 1500 to 1783
Encylopedia of U.S. Political History: Volume 2: The Early Republic, 1784 to 1840
Encylopedia of U.S. Political History: Volume 3: Expansion, Division, and Reconstruction, 1841 to 1877
Encylopedia of U.S. Political History: Volume 4: From the Guilded Age through Age of Reform, 1878 to 1920
Encylopedia of U.S. Political History: Volume 5: Prosperity, Depression, and War, 1921 to 1945
Encylopedia of U.S. Political History: Volume 6: Postwar Concenus to Social Unrest, 1946 to 1975
Encylopedia of U.S. Political History: Volume 7: The Clash of Conservatism and Liberalism, 1976 to Present
Exploring American History: From Colonial Times to 1877
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law, 3rd ed. 
Global Chronology of Conflict: From the Ancient World to the Modern Middle East
History in Dispute, Vol. 1: The Cold War: First Series
History in Dispute, Vol. 2: American Social and Political Movements, 1945 - 2000: Pursuit of Liberty 
History in Dispute, Vol. 3: American Social and Political Movements, 1900 - 1945: Pursuit of Progress
History in Dispute, Vol. 4: World War II, 1939 -1943
History in Dispute, Vol. 5: World War II, 1943 - 1945
History in Dispute, Vol. 6: The Cold War: Second Series
History in Dispute, Vol. 7: Water and the Environment Since 1945: Global Perspectives 
History in Dispute, Vol. 8: World War I: First Series
History in Dispute, Vol. 9: World War I: Second Series
History in Dispute, Vol. 10: The Crusades
History in Dispute, Vol. 11: The Holocaust, 1933 - 1945
History in Dispute, Vol. 12: The American Revolution, 1763 - 1789
History in Dispute, Vol. 13: Slavery in the Western Hemisphere, circa 1500 - 1888
History in Dispute, Vol. 14: The Middle East Since 1945: First Series
History in Dispute, Vol. 15: The Middle East Since 1945: Second Series 
History in Dispute, Vol. 16: Twentieth Century European Social and Political Movements: First Series
History in Dispute, Vol. 17: Twentieth Century European Social and Political Movements: Second Series
History in Dispute, Vol. 18: The Spanish Civil War
History in Dispute, Vol. 19: The Red Scare After 1945
History in Dispute, Vol. 20: Classical Antiquity and Classical Studies 
History in Dispute, Vol. 21: Revolutionary Russia, 1890 - 1930
Jim Crow Encylopedia 
Open for Debate
Popular Controversies in World History: Investigating History's Intriguing Questions
World Eras, Vol. 1: European Renaissance and Reformation, 1350 - 1600
World Eras, Vol. 2: Rise and Spread of Islam, 622 - 1500
World Eras, Vol. 3: Roman Republic and Empire, 264 B.C.E - 476 C.E.
World Eras, Vol. 4: Medieval Europe, 2615 - 332 B.C.E. 
World Eras, Vol. 5: Ancient Egypt, 2615 - 332 B.C.E. 
World Eras, Vol. 6: Classical Greek Civilization, 800 - 323 B.C.E. 
World Eras, Vol. 7: Imperial China, 617 - 1644
World Eras, Vol. 8: Ancient Mesopotamia, 3300 - 331 B.C.E. 
World Eras, Vol. 9: Industrial Revolution in Europe, 1750 - 1914
World Eras, Vol. 10: West African Kingdoms, 500 - 1590

Leadership
Leadership: Fifty Great Leaders and the Worlds They Made
U.S. Leadership in Wartime: Clashes, Controversy, and Compromise

Religion
Encyclopedia of Religion 
Encyclopedia of Religion in America
Encyclopedia of Science and Religion
Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices, 2nd ed. 
Worldmark Encylopedia of Religious Practices 

Science
Encyclopedia of Lifestyle Medicine & Health
Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics
Gale Encyclopedia of Chidren's Health: Infancy through Adolescence, 2nd ed. 
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health, 3rd ed.
Gale Encyclopedia of Science, 3rd ed. 
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia: Evolution
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia: Extinction
Inventors and Inventions
Water: Science and Issues

 

Watch a GVRL tutorial. 7.17 minutes

GVRL - Citation Help

GVRL - More Citation Help