Skip to main content

The Great Depression: Home

U.S. History

Passwords

Reminder: To access HC library databases off-campus (at home, Starbucks, etc.) you will need the database passwords. You can find them on the library page on myHC.

Mr. Sivils

Assignment Instructions

Print Books in Mr. Sivils' Room

These books need to stay in Mr. Sivils' classroom, so you will need to make photocopies. To do this, download the free smart phone app, "Genius Scan - PDF Scanner." It scans pages and turns them into PDFs. Don't forget to scan the title page and copyright page for your citation - *very important*!

EBSCO Discovery Service

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) can be a great place to start your research. Make sure you use the limiters on the left side of your search results. However, be aware that EDS searches all of our databases and print books. Thus, you will receive many results and it may be overwhelming. You may prefer to search one specific database, such as JSTOR.

Search all databases & catalog:

eBooks on GVRL

JSTOR

JSTOR is our highest quality database at HC. This database only contains academic journal articles and books, most of which are also peer-reviewed. In addition, if you are researching for an AP class or DSP, you are likely to quickly find what you are looking for on JSTOR.

JSTOR Logo
Search in:
 

Need help? See the "How to Search JSTOR" guide.

ABC-CLIO World History

Another great place to start is in ABC-CLIO's databases where you'll find reference articles. Below is the link for the World History database.


OR --- search all 6 of our ABC-CLIO databases in this one box:

Sites for Primary Sources

Your Friendly Librarian

Hannah Bailey's picture
Hannah Bailey
Contact:
2700 W. Sam Houston Pkwy. N.
Houston, TX 77043
(713) 580 - 6029
Website

NoodleTools

Citation help and research organization. Click on the image below for access

NoodleTools

Credible Web Resources

National Archives - America's Historical Documents 

The National Archives preserves and provides access to the records of the Federal Government. You'll find a sample of these records, from our most celebrated milestones to little-known surprises on this site.